Saving Grace

Louise Carbasse ca. 1913 / photographed by Rud...

Image by State Library of New South Wales collection via Flickr

My 20 year old cat died over the weekend.  I got her when I first moved out on my own right after high school.  She was old and I knew it was coming.  Her passing was sweet and peaceful, but it still hurts a lot.

NaNoWriMo starts today and I wasn’t sure how I would cope with having to write on top of processing this loss.   I’ve got an outline, so I just started writing.

Three hundred or so words in and I can already feel it starting to save me.  Writing always seems to save me, no matter what else is going on in my life.

How do other people cope without it?

2 responses to “Saving Grace

  1. Cheryl – I read your note on Crazy Aunt Purl’s blog (I love Laurie, LOVE her!) and wanted to pass along my sympathies about Grace. My precious Othello was 19 when he passed some eight years ago (has it BEEN so long?); a month later I was adopted by Evangeline. (I’m not making recommendations, that’s a more intimate decision that who to marry). Two years later we thought Evangeline might benefit from a little friend and brought home Lilliane. Well – they don’t curl up and sleep together after mutual face-washing. But Ev hasn’t eaten Lilli either. It balances out. I also see you’re a fellow WriMo! WRITE ON! (quiet laughter appreciated here). Anyway – we sometimes find friends we didn’t know we have……

    Fondly – Dale-Harriet

    • Thanks so much for the kind words. We’re adjusting to a catless existence for a few months before we get our next pet, which will most likely be a dog. My husband has wanted one for quite a while but we decided to wait until after the car had passed, just because the stress would have been too much for her to adjust to.

      Best of luck on your NaNo’ing. Mine is going quite well! Stop by anytime!

Leave a Reply

