Other Options

The Conjurer, attributed to Hieronymus Bosch, ...

Image via Wikipedia

Last week I had lunch with a former coworker and a current coworker.  We’re all friends outside of work, but we all used to work in the same place, and we’re all still in the same industry.

Current Coworker (CC) and I are in a bit of an existential crisis.  We’ve put our heart and minds into our jobs for many many years, and now we find ourselves working for someone who no longer values us as employees.

He’s been treating our department like a bit of a shell game for the past several months, completely ignoring the “if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it” rule of thought.  What he’s been doing is more like “my car won’t start so let’s change the tires”.

Our area is small, and there aren’t lateral or upwards movement jobs available in our profession.  We’ve both looked.

Thankfully, I’ve got a back-up plan.  I know what I want to do with my life, and I’m trying to see this period as a time to get myself established there so when this job ends (and it will, because I will either walk out or be fired at some time in the next 12 months or so) I will have some place to go.

I was asking her what her plan was and she said she didn’t have one, because she’s not much of a risk taker.  The thing is, her husband has a good job, she has benefits through his company, and they have money in the bank, so now would seem like a really good time to make a change.  She just doesn’t know what to do next because she always thought she would be doing what she’s currently doing. 

I told her she should just make a list of dream jobs.  I even gave her a gimme to start.  She and her husband love to travel, so why not be a travel agent? 

I hope that she takes my advice and starts planning for the future.  In the meantime, I really need to get mine in gear!

Leave a Reply

