Little Things

Plum cake, part two

Image by Saucy Salad via Flickr

I decided to treat myself better than usual this week, and not push myself so hard.  I tend to stay up too late, get up too early, and spend all of the waking hours in between berating myself about all the stuff I should be doing.

I’ve been working to fit some stuff I would normally do in the evening into my daytime hours.  I’ve had the class materials for two CE classes sitting on my desk at home for weeks, but haven’t wanted to work on them in the evenings or weekends, so I’ve been doing it at work.  It’s all related, so it’s not such a big deal.  I ended up finding some of the material interesting enough to consider writing a couple of articles about it.  I haven’t written them yet, but I at least got the ideas recorded for future use.

Sleep has been a big issue for me.  I’m a morning person, and for some reason I keep thinking that I’m going to get up super early and exercise, only I never do.  I decided to give myself a break and just get up as late as possible in the morning, so my morning routine is pretty much: shower, breakfast, get dressed, out the door.  I’ve got it all to under an hour.

I’m also going to sleep earlier in the evenings.  I was spending way too much time staying up late reading.  I was avoiding responsibilities (house work, writing, personal correspondence) by watching TV or movies or reading.  The things about TV, movies and books is that they can all be picked up again later.

Getting to bed before 11 every night and staying in bed until 6:30 or 7 every morning has improved my outlook immensely.  I know this for a fact because I’m in a better mood, I’m more productive at work, and this is a PMS week, so these are all miracles!

Those things I dread doing at home at night I’m just fitting in throughout the day.  When I get home I can do a little housework, watch some TV or read, and really enjoy my evening.  I need that, too.

This weekend I’m going to adhere to the new sleep schedule, but also try to get some writing done during the day.  I have a couple of articles I want to write and find markets for (or vice versa).  There are so many opportunities I’m missing out on because of my mindset.  Time to change that.

I guess these are my resolutions for the Jewish New Year?  Pity I’m not Jewish.

Leave a Reply

