Feeling Better

You are the sunshine of my life...

Image by Parvin ♣( OFF for a while ) via Flickr

After spending several days emotionally paralyzed by I-don’t-know-what, something finally broke loose yesterday.  I was able to be somewhat productive.

I think part of my problem was that my husband left Monday to go out of town for work.  The last time he was out of town I had to deal with getting his parents on a plane to Ohio, taking care of their house and dog (both of which were a pain in the neck), taking care of our house and our cat, who decided to show her displeasure by refusing to use the litterbox.

I was under a lot of stress for those two weeks, and I don’t think I understood how much it affected me until night before last.  I was incredibly lonely, I had trouble getting to sleep and then I had bad dreams.

Then yesterday I decided to force myself to write a couple of newsletter articles and that went really well.  Work was also halfway decent yesterday, in that I felt like I was doing my job, not just being a glorified secretary.  I went home and did a lot of housecleaning and writing and then fell into bed and slept a deep and dreamless sleep.

He’s been gone since Monday and none of the other stresses are really stressful.   After the last trip we worked out some behavior modification for the cat.  His parents are in town (bugging me to come to dinner, which I don’t feel like doing) and I only have the one house to take care of.

I can do this, I know I can.

Leave a Reply

