Crash and Burn or Learn

Flames 4

Image via Wikipedia

A few months ago I was having lunch with a friend.  This is someone I don’t see often as he works out of the country, so we only get together when he is on leave.

I was in the middle of reading the old version of The Well-Fed Writer (that link takes you to the latest version) and I had been thinking a lot about starting up my own freelance writing business.

I told him about my plans and his response was “That’s a lot of hustling.” I countered by telling him that it’s easier to sell a product you believe in.  He got me wondering, though, if I was on a fool’s errand.

Cut to the other day.  I mentioned to another friend that my dream is to never have to clock in to this place again, and his response was to think it over carefully because running one’s own business is hard work.  He should know, because he just started his own company.

I got rather miffed because I don’t know if it is just the natural inclination of humans to want to crush each other’s dreams, or if I just seem like the type that is naturally inclined to failure.

I didn’t take the first respondent’s words too much to heart, but the second I did.  He’s someone who I think knows me pretty well and understands my wants and needs when it comes to professional fulfillment.

I’m amazed at how few people are willing to say “Yes! Go for it! You’ll do great!”  It really makes me wonder, is it that way for everyone or just me?

Make no mistake: I’m doing this anyway.  If I crash and burn I’m going to do it in spectacular fashion, but I don’t believe that’s going to happen.

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

