Grandpa

Oklahoma quarter
Image via Wikipedia

There is a Tumblr Meme that is going around – 30 letters in 30 days.  I’m not so good at the posting every day, so I’m going to post them as the mood strikes me, with modifications that I like to call “artistic license”.

Day 11 — A Deceased person you wish you could talk to

Dear Grandpa,

Today would have been your birthday, and I am sad to admit I’m not sure how old you would have been.  I’m guessing you would have been somewhere in your late 80s, possibly early 90s.  You died almost 25 years ago, and I think you were around 70 then.

I’ve been gone from Oklahoma so long, and unable to visit your grave.  I know you don’t live there, but it seems a particular touchstone.  I’m aware of your visits to me, and I know you must know this since you continue to visit.  It’s comforting to feel your presence.

You will always be cracker jacks and baseball for me, the evening news and Grape Nuts.  You smelled like Aqua Velva and tickled me until I was bruised, and you were my second love after my own daddy.

Even beyond the grave, you’ve continued to show me the way.  Thank you so much for loving me and believing in me.

C.

Leave a Reply

