New Directions

Glass Ceiling
Image by PaDumBumPsh via Flickr

When I was speaking with that potential employer the other day, he told me he was 38.  I don’t remember the context of the conversation, I just remember him telling me that he was 38 and president of the company.  I don’t think he was bragging, just telling me how things were.  He’s pretty successful.

I’m 38 now, and I’m doing a job that I could do with my hands tied behind my back and my eyes closed.  My assistant, who just took another job at this guy’s company, is 30, and she’s making nearly as much money as I am now, with only 4 years experience.  I have 17 years experience in this industry.

Somewhere I have gone terribly wrong.

My problem up to now has been that I’ve believed the people who put me down, the ones who wanted to keep me doing a certain thing a certain way.  I thought they knew what was best for me, but what they really knew was what was best for them, and that was keeping me in their hip pocket.

I figured out a while back that I need to be constantly moving forward, onward, upward.  I’ve been in this same rut for far too long.  Unfortunately, my first foray into escaping didn’t go so well, and I’m still trying to figure out what to do next.

I just started reading Unlock the Hidden Job Market: 6 Steps to a Successful Job Search When Times Are Tough, which has been a really interesting read so far. It’s about how to find the jobs that aren’t advertised, how to bypass hiring managers and create a job or get a job that you really want.  So far, I like the concept.

Of course, my ultimate goal is to work for myself, and I’m trying to figure out how to create the life that I want based on my knowledge and skill sets.  I think my next book to purchase and read will be The 4-Hour Workweek, Expanded and Updated. I really, really want to be my own boss and work from anywhere.

Leave a Reply

