Tides

sunset day 3 - low tide
Image by Chewy Chua via Flickr

The other evening I was walking on the beach for my evening exercise.  It was a beautiful night, but I got there around high tide, which limits the walking area.  My favorite part of the beach is that packed down stretch that is revealed during low tide.

The high tide had lapped up and was pushing at the sand creating a shelf.

I walked up the beach for a while, then started back to my car.  I noticed that the ocean was no longer lapping up against the sand shelf quite so tightly.  The tide was going out.  And then I thought, well, the ocean is always doing either one or the other – the tide is coming in or the tide is going out.  There is no moment when it is doing neither.

People are like that, too.  We are falling in love, or falling out of love, and it’s rare that we are doing neither.  More often we are doing both – falling in love and out of it at the same time.

I thought that might differ from the ocean, but the ocean must be doing the same thing.  Somewhere it is high tide, and somewhere else it is low tide.  If it was high tide everywhere at once I imagine the oceans would be stretched thin in the middle, maybe only ankle deep!

The ebb and flow of the heart is a curious thing.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Leave a Reply

