What I’m Doing

tropical fruit world
Image by mralan via Flickr

Thanksgiving 2008 I tipped the scales at 278 lbs, at a generous 5’3 tall.  I decided that I couldn’t let things get any more out of control, so I started adding a teensy bit of activity here and there, and watching what I ate a little bit.  Nothing major, but enough to lose 40 lbs over the course of a year. 

In January 2009 I was down almost 10 lbs but when I went in to the ob-gyn for my annual checkup they noted there was sugar in my urine, and then we had “the talk” about my weight.  The doctor wanted me to come in for blood tests to determine if I was diabetic, and also wanted me to lose some weight.

I didn’t go back for additional tests, because I didn’t want to know the results (don’t try this at home, folks).

By August 2009 I was 238 lbs and out of motivation.  Actually, I had motivation to get healthier, just no drive or determination.  I thought about getting diet pills from the doctor, but I really didn’t want to go back just yet.  I also didn’t want to do Weight Watchers because my previous attempts at it had led to an unhealthy food obsession.

I had heard of this site, SparkPeople.com, and had even signed up for it before, but I didn’t understand how it worked.  I decided I would try it again in January 2010.

Over the holidays I gained (only!) 4 lbs, and while I signed up for SparkPeople (SP) that first week, I didn’t actually do anything until I got good an disgusted with myself on Sunday, January 24.  I decided I would try SP for a week or two and see what it was really about.

I also decided I was going to treat myself better.  People love me, I could love myself.  I would also face my dreaded enemy: the stairs. 

Monday, January 25th I was 242 lbs and it was my first work day taking the stairs.  I hated it, but I was so proud of myself for doing it.  I also tracked all my food and did some reading on the site.  Over the next several days I created a SparkPage and started blogging.

Pretty soon, people were coming to my page and commenting on my blog there, even friending me!  The support was so amazing.  I was hooked!

I’m midway through week 5 of the program, and my official total so far is -12.2 lbs.  It looks like I am on track to lose at least one lb this week, if not two.  I also take those stupid stairs Every.Single.Day.

I’ll be a bit more specific about myself and post some pictures soon.  The writing will get better, too, I promise.  I just need to get this preliminary stuff out of my head first. 

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Leave a Reply

